Conaway Urges Pelosi and House Leadership to Protect Life in COVID-19 Legislation

By: Rep. Mike Conaway Press Release -- Friday, Congressman Mike Conaway (TX-11) led 115 Members of the House of Representatives in sending a letter to House Leadership underscoring the importance of including pro-life protections, including the Hyde Amendment and Conaway's bill, H.R. 6742, the Protecting Life in Crisis Act, in any future stimulus packages related to COVID-19. 

The letter reads, in part:

In the coming weeks, we will work to address the needs of millions of Americans who have lost their healthcare coverage due to COVID-19. As in any debate regarding healthcare, it is imperative to the American people that Hyde Amendment protections are applied to any funding or tax credits that may be used to address the health care needs of unemployed Americans. 

Since 1976, the Hyde Amendment has been included in appropriations bills every year with bipartisan support. The provision prevents funding appropriated through the Department of Health and Human services from being used to fund abortion or insurance plans that include abortion. Polling consistently shows that a majority of Americans do not support using tax dollars to fund abortions. A Marist poll conducted in January 2020 found that 60% of individuals polled opposed or strongly opposed using tax dollars to pay for an abortion. 

Despite the longstanding congressional and public support for the Hyde Amendment, there are already efforts underway to undercut and bypass these long-held protections. It is imperative that we demonstrate to the American people that we are listening to them and producing legislation that is reflective of their views. More importantly, by establishing Hyde Amendment protections, we are demonstrating that Congress is working to save every life, no matter how small, in this pandemic.


The respect for life is one of the founding principles of both our nation and of our healthcare system. 
No system that subsidizes abortions can be said to fully live up to that principle. H.R. 6742 is a critical step in ensuring accountability in how tax dollars are spent and upholding this principle, and we ask that you include this legislation in the next bipartisan COVID-19 relief package. 

To read the letter in its entirety, please click here.

The letter was signed by Representative K. Michael Conaway (TX-11) and Reps. Christopher H. Smith (NJ-04), Vicky Hartzler (MO-04), Doug Collins (GA-09), Doug Lamborn (CO-05), Doug LaMalfa (CA-01), Andy Harris (MD-01), Brian Babin (TX-36), Ted Budd (NC-13), Mike Kelly (PA-16), Alex X. Mooney (WV-02), Elise M. Stefanik (NY-21), Jodey C. Arrington (TX-19), Joe Wilson (SC-02), Brian Mast (FL-18), Ralph Abraham (MD-05), Jeff Duncan (SC-03), Bill Posey (FL-08), Brad Wenstrup (OH-02), David Rouzer (NC-07), Louie Gohmert (TX-01), Gus M. Bilirakis (FL-12), Trent Kelly (MS-01), Matt Gaetz (FL-01), Austin Scott (GA-08), Ron Wright (TX-06), Ralph Norman (SC-05), Roger Marshall (KS-01), Rick Allen (GA-12), William Timmons (SC-04), Fred Keller (PA-12), Robert B. Aderholt (AL-04), Jim Banks (IN-03), Cathy McMorris Rodgers (WA-05), Rick Crawford (AK-01), Tim Walberg (MI-07), Randy K. Weber (TX-14), Phil Roe (TN-01), Michael Guest (MS-03), Jody Hice (GA-10), Russ Fulcher (ID-01), Will Hurd (TX-23), Bill Huizenga (MI-02), Larry Bucshon (In-08), Jim Jordan (OH-04), David Kustoff (TN-08), Glenn Grothman (WI-06), Neal Dunn (FL-02), Guy Reschenthaler (PA-14), Steve Watkins (KS-02), Mark Green (TN-07), Bill Flores (TX-17), Jim Hagedorn (MN-01), Steve Chabot (OH-01), Ted S. Yoho (FL-03), Pete Olson (TX-22), Roger Williams (TX-25), Jack Bergman (MI-01), Thomas P. Tiffany (WI-07), Gregory F. Murphy (NC-03), Tom Cole (OK-04), Scott Tipton (CO-03), Ross Spano (FL-15), W. Gregory Steube (FL-17), Hal Rogers (KY-05), Robert E. Latta (OH-05), Lance Gooden (TX-05), Glenn "GT" Thompson (PA-15), Chip Roy (TX-21), Jackie Walorski (IN-02), Blaine Luetkemeyer (MO-03), Denver Riggleman (VA-05), Scott DesJarlais (TN-04), Bill Johnson (OH-06), Pete Stauber (MN-08), Jeff Fortenberry (NE-01), John Carter (TX-31), John Joyce (PA-13), Bruce Westerman (AR-04), Andy Biggs (AZ-05), Warren Davidson (OH-08), Francis Rooney (FL-19), Debbie Lesko (AZ-08), Steven M. Palazzo (MS-04), Chuck Fleischmann (TN-03), Gary Palmer 9AL-06), Michael Burgess (TX-26), Greg Pence (IN-06), David B. McKinley (WV-01), Bob Gibbs (OH-07), John H. Rutherford (FL-04), Carol D. Miller (WV-03), Kelly Armstrong (ND-At Large), Kevin Hern (OK-01), H. Morgan Griffith (VA-09), Michael Cloud (TX-27), Greg Gianforte (MT-At Large), John Rose (TN-06), Scott Perry (PA-10), Ron Estes (KS-04), French Hill (AK-02), Tom Emmer (MN-06), Michael Waltz (FL-06), Brett Guthrie (KY-02), Dusty Johnson (SD-At Large), Ben Cline (VA-06), Steve King (IA-04), John Shimkus (IL-15), James R. Baird (IN-04), John Moolenaar (MI-04), Paul Mitchell (MI-10), Adam Kinzinger (IL-16), Troy Balderson (OH-12), Mike Turner (OH-10), and Paul Gosar (AZ-04).

Stay Connected

Use the form below to sign up for my newsletter and get the latest news and updates directly to your inbox.