Nancy Pelosi Has Blocked a Vote on the Bill to Ban Taxpayer-Funded Abortions 38 Times

By: Steven Ertelt (Life News)

The count is now at 38 times over the last month. That’s how many times Speaker Nancy Pelosi and her Democrat colleagues in the House have blocked a request from Republicans on the House floor to have a vote on a bill to ban taxpayer-funding of abortions.

Three members of the House asked for a vote on the pro-life bill yesterday and each of them were denied the request by Pelosi and Democrats in the chair at her behest. Rep. Kevin Brady (R-TX), Rep. Diana Harshbarger (R-TN), and Rep. Tim Walberg (R-MI) all tried to secure a vote on the bill but were denied.

“Yesterday, I spoke on the House floor to oppose Democrats’ cruel efforts to repeal the Hyde Amendment. This is an affront to the majority of Americans who don’t want their tax dollars to fund abortions,” Brady said in a tweet.

Harshbarger added: “Last night I demanded that the No Taxpayer Funding for Abortion Act come up for a vote to ensure critical pro-life protections like the Hyde Amendment remain in place. Sadly, liberals disagree. I will always fight for the lives of the unborn!”

And Walberg said: “The Hyde Amendment prevents taxpayer-funded abortions and has done so—with bipartisan support—since 1976. Abandoning this decades-long policy would be tragic. We must stand up for innocent life and maintain this pro-life protection in the law.”

The bill would make the Hyde Amendment permanent law and protect taxpayers from being forced to fund the killing of unborn babies in abortions.

The Hyde Amendment, which has strong public support, prohibits taxpayer funding for elective abortions in Medicaid and other federal programs. Since 1976, it has saved an estimated 2.4 million babies’ lives, including about 60,000 each year, according to the Charlotte Lozier Institute.

Pro-abortion Democrats claim taxpayer-funded abortions are needed to help low-income women, but a Harvard/Politico poll found strong opposition to their plan among the very people who these politicians claim to want to help.

According to the poll, voters who make more than $75,000 were more supportive of forcing taxpayers to fund abortions (45 percent in favor), while those who make $25,000 or less were strongly against it (24 percent in favor).

Smith, the lead sponsor of the bill, quoted President Joe Biden who, up until his presidential campaign, was a supporter of the Hyde Amendment, too.

The Hyde Amendment “’protects both the woman & her unborn child… I have consistently (no fewer than 50 occasions) voted against federal funding for abortions. Those of us opposed to abortion should not be compelled to pay for them,’” Smith quoted.

He said unborn babies have been denied their rights for far too long.

“By reason of their age, dependency, maturity, convenience, fragility and unwantedness, unborn children have been denied justice,” Smith continued.

For decades, most Republican and Democrat lawmakers supported the Hyde Amendment as a regular part of the budget. However, Democrats recently abandoned the public on the issue and sided with the billion-dollar abortion industry in calling for forced taxpayer-funded abortions. Biden’s proposed 2022 budget specifically excludes the pro-life measure.

Democrats also blocked Republicans’ request to vote on the bill Wednesday and Thursday.

Research by Charlotte Lozier Institute associate scholar Dr. Michael New estimates the Hyde Amendment has saved about 2.4 million babies from abortions. Prior to the amendment, in the 1970s, Americans paid for about 300,000 unborn babies’ abortion deaths each year, according to a report from the Family Research Council.

The following is a list of all House members who have asked for unanimous consent to take up the bill:

Leader Kevin McCarthy (R-CA)
Whip Steve Scalise (R-LA)
Conference Chair Elise Stefanik (R-NY)
Rep. Chris Smith (R-NJ)
Rep. Andy Harris (R-MD)
Rep. Michelle Fischbach (R-MN)
Rep. Kat Cammack (R-FL)
Rep. Kay Granger (R-TX)
Rep. Ashley Hinson (R-IA)
Rep. Lisa McClain (R-MI)
Rep. Ron Estes (R-KS)
Rep. Bob Latta (R-OH)
Rep. Gary Palmer (R-AL)
Rep. Vicky Hartzler (R-MO)
Rep. Rob Wittman (R-VA)
Rep. Pete Stauber (R-MN)
Rep. Stephanie Bice (R-OK)
Rep. Buddy Carter (R-GA)
Rep. Glenn Thompson (R-PA)
Rep. Bill Huizenga (R-MI)
Rep. Chip Roy (R-TX)
Rep. Ann Wagner (R-MO)
Rep. Doug Lamborn (R-CO)
Rep. Dan Bishop (R-NC)
Rep. Mariannette Miller-Meeks (R-IA)
Rep. Chip Roy (R-TX)
Rep. Joe Wilson (R-SC)
Rep. Glenn Grothman (R-WI)
Rep. Jackie Walorski (R-IN)
Rep. Brad Wenstrup (R-OH)
Rep. Blake Moore (R-UT)
Rep. Debbie Lesko (R-AZ)
Rep. Scott Fitzgerald (R-WI)
Rep. Morgan Griffith (R-VA)
Rep. Rick Allen (R-GA)
Rep. Dusty Johnson (R-SD)
Rep. Kevin Brady (R-TX)
Rep. Diana Harshbarger (R-TN)
Rep. Tim Walberg (R-MI)

Stay Connected

Use the form below to sign up for my newsletter and get the latest news and updates directly to your inbox.