Womack, Moulton Introduce Bipartisan Resolution Honoring National Guard Members

By: Congressman Steve Womack Press Release

Washington, DC—January 28, 2021….U.S. Representatives Steve Womack (R-AR) and Seth Moulton (D-MA) today introduced a bipartisan resolution to honor the dedicated service of U.S. National Guard members. The bill commends and recognizes all the brave men and women who were instrumental in providing a safe and secure environment for the 59th Presidential Inauguration. The peaceful transfer of power is a hallmark of our constitutional republic.

Congressman Womack said, “When the nation calls, our National Guard members are ‘Always Ready, Always There.’ That creed directs the steadfast service we have seen on a multitude of fronts. Whether securing the Capitol and inaugural ceremonies, ensuring the safety of citizens, or assisting with pandemic response, these soldiers have carried out every mission with unyielding dedication. Bound in purpose – and hailing from each state and territory – they also remind us of the unity and shared values of America. I will always proudly salute them.”

Congressman Moulton said, “The National Guard defended democracy at our Capitol when it was under assault. They stood watch so that people across America and across the world would witness a peaceful transition of power, days after a deadly and seditious attack on our country. Their presence defending democracy in its hour of maximum danger will be an example for generations to come.”

Major General Kendall Penn, Adjutant General of Arkansas, said, “Being in the National Guard is about service. Service to one’s state and their nation. We sent some of our very best Arkansans to support Inauguration Day activities. Their priority was to protect people and property, and our Guardsmen performed with grace, honor, and professionalism. I couldn’t be prouder to lead these men and women and see them honored with this deserving tribute. Congressman Womack witnessed their duty performance on the ground firsthand, and I thank him for his strong support of our personnel and recognizing the importance of their work.”

More than 26,700 National Guard members, including nearly 500 troops from the Natural State, assisted with efforts related to Capitol security for inaugural ceremonies. Congressman Womack – a 30-year veteran of the Arkansas National Guard – met with and personally thanked members of the 142nd Fires Brigade during their deployment to D.C.

The bipartisan resolution is supported by 87 original cosponsors, including Representatives Steve Stivers (R-OH), Bruce Westerman (R-AR), Brian Fitzpatrick (R-PA), Kay Granger (R-TX), Mario Diaz-Balart (R-FL), Cheri Bustos (D-IL), Chris Pappas (D-NH), David Joyce (R-OH), Barry Moore (R- AL), David Trone (D-MD), French Hill (R-AR), Rick Crawford (R-AR), David McKinley (R-WV), Trent Kelly (R-MS), Jenniffer Gonzalez-Colon (R-PR), Randy Weber (R-TX), Mike Simpson (R-ID), Mike McCaul (R-TX), Andrew Garbarino (R-NY), Elise Stefanik (R-NY), Ed Perlmutter (D-CO), Tim Ryan (D-OH), Ashley Hinson (R-IA), Andy Kim (D-NJ), Mark Amodei (R-NV), Rob Wittman (R-VA), Jim Langevin (D-RI), Kai Kahele (D-HI), Dan Meuser (R-PA), Tom Cole (R-OK), Jim Baird (R-IN), Abigail Spanberger (D-VA), Sanford Bishop (D-GA), Betty McCollum (D-MN), Chris Stewart (R-UT), Drew Ferguson (R-GA), Troy Nehls, (R-TX), Hal Rogers (R-KY), Henry Cuellar (D-TX), Don Bacon (R-NE), Bob Good (R-VA), Steve Scalise (R-LA), John Joyce (R-PA), Marcy Kaptur (D-OH), Dutch Ruppersberger (D-MD), Michelle Steel (R-CA), Dan Newhouse (R-WA), Kat Cammack (R-FL), Eric Swalwell (D-CA), Markwayne Mullin (R-OK), Guy Reschenthaler (R-PA), Derek Kilmer (D-WA), Jim Costa (D-CA), Jeff Fortenberry (R-NE), Brett Guthrie (R-KY), Dan Crenshaw (R-TX), Barbara Lee (D-CA), Bill Johnson (R-OH), Michael Waltz (R-FL), Will Timmons (R-SC), Jack Bergman (R-MI), Jackie Walorski (R-IN), Chrissy Houlahan (D-PA), Blake Moore (R-UT), Jared Golden (D-ME), Jason Crow (D-CO), Buddy Carter (R-GA), Bobby Rush (D-IL), Ann Wagner (R-MO), Yvette Herrell (R-NM), Van Taylor (R-TX), Michael Guest (R-MS), Don Young (R-AK), Larry Bucshon (R-IN), Virginia Foxx (R-NC), Steven Palazzo (R-MS), Tony Gonzales (R-TX), Glenn Grothman (R-WI), Andy Harris (R-MD), Ed Case (D-HI), Madison Cawthorn (R-NC), Jay Obernolte (R-CA), Brad Wenstrup (R-OH), John Carter (R-TX), Cathy McMorris Rodgers (R-WA), Kevin Hern (R-OK), Liz Cheney (R-WY).

The full text of the resolution may be viewed here and below:

Honoring and thanking the members of the National Guard who were deployed to District of Columbia and the National Capital region in support of civil authorities for the Inauguration of Joseph R. Biden, Jr. as the 46th President of the United States and Kamala Devi Harris as 49th Vice President of the United States.

Whereas since 1636 the United States National Guard has served the American people in a variety of roles ranging from—

  1. homeland defense;
  2. overseas combat;
  3. humanitarian aid; and
  4. defense support for civil authorities;

Whereas the National Guard is comprised of 444,600 individuals from all 50 states, the District of Columbia, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, the Territory of Guam, and the Virgin Islands of the United States;

Whereas members of the National Guard serve their country and their communities on a daily basis;

Whereas on January 6, 2021, during a joint session of Congress to count states’ electoral votes, a violent, deadly attack occurred on the United States Capitol and Capitol Complex;

Whereas beginning on January 7, 2021, over 26,700  guardsmen from the 50 states, the Territories, and the District of Columbia deployed to the National Capital region to support the U.S. Capitol Police, the Metropolitan Police Department of the District of Columbia, the U.S. Secret Service, the U.S. Park Police, and other federal law enforcement agencies during the Inauguration of Joseph R. Biden, Jr. as the 46th President of the United States and Kamala Devi Harris as 49th Vice President of the United States;

Whereas, in keeping with the National Guard’s motto of “Always Ready, Always There!”, these members of the National Guard deployed on a no-notice deployment to aid law enforcement in creating a secure environment for the 59th Inauguration Ceremonies;

Whereas throughout their deployments to the National Capital region, the members of the National Guard were instrumental in providing a safe, secure environment for one of the hallmarks of our republic, the peaceful transfer of power;

Whereas, throughout their time supporting civil authorities in the District of Columbia, there were no incidents of violence threatening the Inaugural ceremonies;

Whereas the members of the National Guard completed their mission while also dealing with, and working to mitigate, the effects of the COVID-19 pandemic;

Whereas some members of the National Guard will remain in the National Capital region over the coming months to ensure stability and security;

Resolved, That the House of Representatives—

  1. Sends its sincere gratitude to the over 26,700 members of the National Guard who deployed to Washington, D.C., and the National Capital Region, at a moment’s notice in support of the peaceful transfer of power to Joseph R. Biden, Jr. as the 46th President of the United States and Kamala Devi Harris as 49th Vice President of the United States; and
  2. Commends the guardsmen and the law enforcement agencies who ensured a safe, secure environment for the 59th Inauguration.

Congressman Steve Womack (AR-3) has represented Arkansas’s Third Congressional District since 2011. He is a member of the House Appropriations Committee.

Stay Connected

Use the form below to sign up for my newsletter and get the latest news and updates directly to your inbox.